Re: "Christ Is King" by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 10:30:17 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 08:31:19 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 07:54:40 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Sefiru
[Yesterday at 07:44:49 pm]

Author Topic: Getting the Attention of One's Muse  (Read 2067 times)

KendrikDmer

• Sr. Newbie
    • View Profile
Getting the Attention of One's Muse
« on: May 09, 2014, 06:15:52 pm »
Hi all.  I'm hoping that this is being posted in the right forum. Feel free to let me know if it should be elsewhere.

I am a writer. No novels published yet, but one manuscript finished and another 2 begun.  However, I've hit that roadblock usually referred to as "writer's block."  I just don't know where to go with either plot line.  Usually, I can just sit and write away, my brain going faster than I can type.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas for a way to attract a Muse to help inspire me which way to go with either book. I've though of lighting a candle and asking for Kvasir's help (Norse god of poetry).  Not sure what color candle though, or if I should include incense or other stuff.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, and thank you in advance.
Kendrik D\'mer
"The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing." ~Socrates~
"It is better to be hated for what you are, than loved for what you are not." ~Andre Gide~

Faemon

• Grand Master Member
    • View Profile
Re: Getting the Attention of One's Muse
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2014, 07:11:51 pm »
Quote from: KendrikDmer;147180
I was wondering if anyone had any ideas for a way to attract a Muse to help inspire me which way to go with either book. I've though of lighting a candle and asking for Kvasir's help (Norse god of poetry).  Not sure what color candle though, or if I should include incense or other stuff.

Can you watch YouTube videos on your computer? The author of Eat, Pray, Love did a pretty interesting TEDtalk about this.