Re: "Christ Is King" by Sophia C
[Today at 07:04:14 pm]

[Today at 06:56:16 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Yei
[Today at 06:56:00 pm]

[Today at 06:45:55 pm]

Author Topic: What is religion?  (Read 2011 times)

arete

• Master Member
  • Banned!
    • View Profile
  • Religion: pagan
What is religion?
« on: March 14, 2019, 10:35:55 am »
What is religion?

In my opinion, it's a lifestyle. The compass we have to live our lives. The more we don't practice what we believe, the less happier we become.  :)

Jenett

• Senior Staff
    • View Profile
    • Seeking: First steps on a path
  • Religion: Initiatory religious witchcraft
  • Preferred Pronouns: she/her
Re: What is religion?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2019, 10:49:59 am »
What is religion?

In my opinion, it's a lifestyle. The compass we have to live our lives. The more we don't practice what we believe, the less happier we become.  :)

I really really dislike the idea of religion as a lifestyle.

I'm a middle-aged single librarian with a cat, living in a metro area of the United States.

My lifestyle - where I get my food, what and how I cook, how I get to work, how I spend my time outside of work, who I spend it with- is different than, say, the priest who trained me in my tradition (who lives with his husband in a different city, who has a different set of health needs and food needs, a very different work and social schedule. Though also cats.)

Which makes me realise that cats are probably the only reasonably consistent lifestyle choice in my particular religious witchcraft tradition, and one not at all actually related to the religion or its practices. (And we have had plenty of people who do not have cats.) That rather points out the silliness of conflating the two.