Re: Cill Shift Schedule by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 11:04:57 pm]

Re: Stellar Bling: The Good, the Bad, the OMG! by SunflowerP
[March 21, 2024, 11:21:37 pm]

Re: Spring Has Sprung! 2024 Edition by SunflowerP
[March 21, 2024, 10:24:10 pm]

Stellar Bling: The Good, the Bad, the OMG! by Altair
[March 21, 2024, 02:52:34 pm]

Author Topic: Faith, the "proof of" and simple meanings.  (Read 2892 times)

GaelicWarfighter5811

• Jr. Newbie
    • View Profile
Faith, the "proof of" and simple meanings.
« on: August 30, 2012, 03:07:43 am »
As some of you may know, I'm new to referring to myself as a Pagan.  Not that there hadn't been signs throughout my life, but by following the old ways of my ancestors, I broke with new traditions of Christianity (and specifically Catholicism).  I had an interesting discussion with a Pagan friend of mine tonight, regarding Faith in all it's forms.  He's been a Pagan for years, and his in his early fifties now.  Faith in itself, regardless of deity, is a pretty amazing them.  I don't feel I need "proof" in my belief of Lugh and my belief that he watches over me.

However, I do feel that I have it, both on a personal level and a more widely recognized level.  Neolithic Celtic forts in Scotland made of stone that's been vitrified (turned to glass) with legends surrounding Lugh and his spear attached to the area seem pretty obvious to me.  However, I don't feel that I need this to "prove" my faith.  

Was Lugh simply a normal man from a past age (we've had seven ice ages on this planet, and it's more than probable that prior to one of the cataclysms we reached a high degree of technology) who possessed technology that other's deemed to be magic or godlike power?  Perhaps he was an extra-terrestrial power that helped humanity?  Or, he was a supernatural being that we can't even begin to contemplate.  Does it really matter?  I don't think so, but it could be an interesting discussion.  Anyone care to weigh in?