Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Today at 07:54:40 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Sefiru
[Today at 07:44:49 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Sophia C
[Today at 07:21:31 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by SirPalomides
[Today at 07:13:48 pm]

Author Topic: Starting at Square One  (Read 1479 times)

Sasquatch

• View Profile
Starting at Square One
« on: February 22, 2014, 07:43:14 pm »
Hello all, I'm Greg... Before I get into this I'll be honest, I'm a skeptic when it comes to anything concerning religion & spirituality. I've had some bad experiences in this department of life, and frankly it's left a rather sour taste in my mouth. I've dabbled in Catholicism, Methodism and even Unitarian-Universalism, not to mention  other variations of Christianity over my 35 years of existence. Each time, there's been something that was a dealbreaker... some prohibition, the demand for a tithe (when I can barely make it as is) or some other little gotcha that just drove me away. As for Islam and Judaism, both are out of the question for similar reasons. I basically hate with a passion people trying to dictate whom I can associate with, where I can go and how I choose to express my faith.

Yes, I can be a bit odd, with my slavish love of technology, my cannabis habit and my views on life, but I'm not a sinner or an evil person. I'm just one person, lost and confused with nothing to latch on to when it comes to spiritual beliefs. That's why I'm here to learn, to grow and hopefully to find some sense of belonging.

A final thing that I must add before I start asking questions and begin my journey through paganism... It's not going to be easy for me. I just can't pick up a book like most of you and read, thanks to a vision-impairment. I really do hope that I can find accessible resources on paganism, and would love to find a community in my area that would be welcoming to someone willing to learn despite obvious difficulties.