collapse

Author Topic: Questions on Polytheism, Paganism, and Witchcraft  (Read 2050 times)

moon

• View Profile
Questions on Polytheism, Paganism, and Witchcraft
« on: December 01, 2015, 01:21:15 am »
I'm a beginner, trying to understand everything I've been reading in these forums and on tumblr, etc.

1. Are soft and hard polytheism the only options? What if I think that one pantheon is real, and others aren't, or that all pantheons are aspects/reflections of the one true pantheon? What if I think that Jupiter and Zeus are the same, as the Romans did? And even many Gauls saw their gods as equivalent to the Roman gods, so it seems odd to me that there are only the two polarizing options of "hard" and "soft".

2. It also sort of raises the problem of the tipping point, where one culture's god has spread and changed enough that they suddenly become a different god. What does "suddenly becom[ing] a different god" even mean?

3. When you a) perform spells or b) speak to the gods, are you meant to do so out loud? I realize that polytheism is radically different from Abrahamic monotheism, and so I'm wondering if it's more necessary to speak aloud for the gods to hear.

Faemon

• Grand Master Member
    • View Profile
Re: Questions on Polytheism, Paganism, and Witchcraft
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 02:59:47 am »
Quote from: moon;183053
1. Are soft and hard polytheism the only options? What if I think that one pantheon is real, and others aren't, or that all pantheons are aspects/reflections of the one true pantheon? What if I think that Jupiter and Zeus are the same, as the Romans did? And even many Gauls saw their gods as equivalent to the Roman gods, so it seems odd to me that there are only the two polarizing options of "hard" and "soft".