collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: General/Non-Specific: Mental Blocks and Difficulty Connecting to Deities  (Read 4783 times)

EclecticWheel

• Staff
    • View Profile
  • Religion: Christo-Eclectic
  • Preferred Pronouns: he/him/his
Mental Blocks and Difficulty Connecting to Deities
« on: August 01, 2020, 06:58:53 pm »
Given my limited experience with pagan deities in terms of devotion and ritual I chose our beginner friendly section to ask some advice.  I'd also be interested in what experiences others may have had overcoming what I'll call mental barriers to connecting to gods.

I'm no expert, and I have a lot to learn, but for years on and off I have explored Greek mythology and felt a great fondness for some of the deities.  The first barrier I had to overcome was ritual structure, but that was easily enough addressed by adapting rituals from Reconstructionist sources (though I'm not overly strict and do not claim to be Reconstructionist).

The barriers I have are possibly cultural.  I am still learning about this concept but I'm pretty sure I do not want or need a concept of miasma.  It is very foreign to me, and concepts of purity cause me anxiety even when they're not notions of moral purity.

I also struggle with an emphasis I perceive in some places on treating gods as very Other, which is connected to concepts of Hubris.  I am on board with this to a degree, that the gods are in some ways Other, and I am perfectly fine with honoring them, and I do know that apotheosis is a thing, so these barriers can be blurred.  But my emphasis is different, and I will worship just about anyone I am drawn to, god or not.  Maybe not in the same ways exactly, but I do not limit worthiness of worship to the gods.