collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Finding the right path  (Read 2896 times)

DownByTheWillowTree

• Sr. Newbie
    • View Profile
Finding the right path
« on: May 20, 2014, 04:02:57 am »
Hey everyone :)

Since I'm new to paganism (I read a few books, but still pretty new) I was hoping you could help me get started.

I guess the most important thing would be to find your own path and how to start practicing... Does anyone have recommendations for me on that subject?

I already read Wicca Teachings - An Introduction and Practical Guide by Tony Bell, but I'd like further information on the gods and goddesses of the different cultures.

Maybe you could tell me how you found your own path? :)

Thanks!

catloverkid

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: Finding the right path
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 06:59:31 am »
Quote from: DownByTheWillowTree;148067

The internet is a magical place.

I was searching for something to replace Christianity after two years of figuring out that I needed *a* belief system, whatever it was, and kept coming back to paganism in my research. So focused on that, looked at different cultures and gods and goddesses. I started with Greek/Roman and Egyptian, but there was no pull.

I didn't actually start with the Norse, my only real interest in their history is "ooh ancient history" (I adore ancient history, but my lifelong love is Ancient Egypt) and Marvel. But when I looked stuff up in it, it felt right.

I don't know how I found Sigyn exactly, she's not on your typical list of Norse gods, but I did, and resisted for about a week, and then gave in. Lit a candle and said "okay, if you're out there, I'm here." Felt pretty stupid actually, but it obviously paid off.

Two weeks later I was doing research and it mentioned putting toys on her altar for the boys, so I did, and a week later Loki showed up.

A month later I'm his Padawan, and she's my Lady.