collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Altar Position and Feeling Lost  (Read 1870 times)

Stormy

• View Profile
Altar Position and Feeling Lost
« on: July 27, 2015, 07:09:59 pm »
I am very new to the practice and I'm trying to learn as much as I can. I'm alone in my research and I've had trouble finding answers.

I am slowly finding and buying items for my first altar and was having trouble finding an appropriate area. I've read about altars facing north, with the top of the pentacle pointing north, unfortunately with my setup the altar would be facing north with the top point pointing south. Is this setup okay and could I simply move the altar to the floor facing the proper way everytime I'm going to do my work? (the altar would be on a bookshelf attached to my bed so I have to be on my bed if I were going to use it there.)

I have also been feeling quite lost as I do not know which deity I truly connect with. My whole life I had been raised Catholic so I always had someone to 'follow', now I feel more connected to the elements, the universe, and nature. Animals, the forests, and the moon especially. I'm not sure if following a specific goddess would work with me because I'd be too wary that I was not worshiping her in the 'correct' way or keeping up with specific rituals.  

Was finding a deity or perhaps not finding one at all difficult for others? How does one go about having an altar or doing spells/rituals without a goddess or god? What would I possibly put at the point of my altar for "spirit" if I decide nature as a whole is who I connect with?

elysium

• View Profile
Re: Altar Position and Feeling Lost
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2015, 07:27:56 pm »