collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Hello from Pennsylvania  (Read 780 times)

antu

Hello from Pennsylvania
« on: February 26, 2013, 02:59:35 pm »
Hello all! I'm a newbie on the forum. I'm also new to learning about paganism in all it's forms, though I've always had a deep interest in mythology and theology. I'm looking forward to exploring what everyone has to say and the conversations posted on here. I would appreciate any book recommendations, YouTube video links or... well any advice on where I can start learning more.

I haven't committed to a path just yet. My hesitation being that I'm a strict atheist. However, I do believe there are things and forces internal and external that can't be explained away and I want to deepen my understanding of them. Rational thinking has not led me to understanding them. That doesn't necessarily indicate to me that said forces are conscious. I'm not even sure human beings are conscious. Which is why I would like to burst out of logic and sense and get in touch with nature, and for the first time in a very long while, I feel myself open again to the possibility of something else.

I'm very much interested in Eastern philosophies like Buddhism, Taoism and Hinduism. I was raised Christian but rejected that faith over a decade ago and can't imagine ever going back. I'm currently interested in Wicca, Druidry, Asatru, and I want to find and explore even more belief systems. I'm into lucid dreaming, dreams and subconscious motives in general. Eventually I'd like to dabble in astral projection as a mental exercise. I haven't submitted to the idea of a "soul" or "spirit" but I still feel it would deepen my understanding of my own mind, which is all I'm really aiming for in everything I do.

Well, I know that was a lot to take in, but that's where I am right now and that's what led me to this forum. Thank you a ton in advance if you can recommend any next steps!

Sage

• Adept Member
    • View Profile