Re: "Christ Is King" by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 10:30:17 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 08:31:19 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 07:54:40 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Sefiru
[Yesterday at 07:44:49 pm]

Author Topic: Does Anyone Know Where I can Find Methods on Creating a Carmen/Carmina?  (Read 2139 times)

BlindRobertBrown

• View Profile
  • Religion: Gintliocht, Forn Sithr, and Cultus Deorum
  • Preferred Pronouns: He/him, She/Her
Good morning!

I'm interested to know if anyone has any information on or can show me where I can find formats, methods, instructions, etc, on how to compose Carmina for various reasons?

I'm something of a Poet and Lyricist by trade, most of my experience  with cultural and spiritual forms of Poetry has been with Irish and Norse so far, and having gotten myself into the practice of Cultus Deorum sometime fairly recent (long story there), I'd like to research and eventually try my hand at creating and writing some Carmina on my own.

Problem is, however, so far I've been able to find a couple of examples of surviving Carmina, some descriptions on the various functions and varients of Carmina out there, but nothing in the way of exactly a format for meter, pieces of what should be added in one, etc. The search has been frustrating so far and I'm hoping that someone here can shed some light and show me where to go or give me a starting point to go off with.

Thank you very much!

SirPalomides

• Sr. Apprentice
    • View Profile
  • Religion: Surrealist with feet in Chinese and Western esotericism
  • Preferred Pronouns: thou/thee
Re: Does Anyone Know Where I can Find Methods on Creating a Carmen/Carmina?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2020, 09:32:34 am »
Good morning!

I'm interested to know if anyone has any information on or can show me where I can find formats, methods, instructions, etc, on how to compose Carmina for various reasons?