Re: Cill Shift Schedule by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 11:04:57 pm]

Re: Stellar Bling: The Good, the Bad, the OMG! by SunflowerP
[March 21, 2024, 11:21:37 pm]

Re: Spring Has Sprung! 2024 Edition by SunflowerP
[March 21, 2024, 10:24:10 pm]

Stellar Bling: The Good, the Bad, the OMG! by Altair
[March 21, 2024, 02:52:34 pm]

Author Topic: Steps of a Basic Ritual  (Read 1652 times)

Systematic

• View Profile
Steps of a Basic Ritual
« on: August 29, 2013, 03:49:50 pm »
So I'm still new to the idea of performing rituals. I have done tarot and basic rune divination but as far as rituals are concerned, I've never done anything other than sage-smudging my house. What exactly goes into a basic ritual at ones altar?

Materialist

• Sr. Master Member
    • View Profile
Re: Steps of a Basic Ritual
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 08:30:03 pm »
Quote from: Systematic;120431
What exactly goes into a basic ritual at ones altar?

My religion uses a bare patch of ground, a rock with cup marks, or a body of water as an altar. The steps leading up to consecrating the area can be a bit tedious, so I'll skip to after all that. First there is several minutes of meditating to fully concentrate on, and understand, what I'm about to do, while wearing pandara (head covering) and upavita (very long cord of beads around shoulder) to show that I'm in ritual mode.

That being finished, there's an introductory piece explaining what the ritual's for and typically there follows a crap load of pinda (food) and arghya (water) offerings to however many beings are involved while reciting mantras (ritual phrases) to ensure the success of the offering.

Completing all that, the sacred fire gets what's left and then I can go home and eat because I've been uposita (fasting) for half a day. But that's just me. I'm sure other people's religions are a lot less involved than mine.

Elizabeth G.

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2013, 09:18:58 pm »