collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Soft 'Archetypical' Polytheism and worship/rituals  (Read 3295 times)

schweinsty

• View Profile
Soft 'Archetypical' Polytheism and worship/rituals
« on: August 28, 2013, 06:28:29 pm »
I'm a soft polytheist, wobbling between seeing the gods as aspects of a greater energy or being, perhaps existing discretely within it, or as archetypes which humans came up with to explain or describe this greater being.

I used to lean far more towards just the archetypical 'model' when I started practicing a couple of years ago, and I felt a little hesitant at first to enter into the Pagan community, as many (though certainly not all) of the rituals or ideas for worship, such as offerings, that I initially encountered, seemed to approach worship with a harder idea of polytheism than I believed in.

I've found a way of performing my religious observances that works for me, and I am a bit harder than I used to be (though still fairly soft by most standards), but I was wondering how others who held to the 'gods as archetypes' model structured their worship and rituals. Do you still do offerings and prayers and such to the gods as discrete individuals? How do you acknowledge the greater Whole (for lack of a better word) in your observances and day-to-day faith?

Elizabeth G.

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: Soft 'Archetypical' Polytheism and worship/rituals
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 08:37:25 pm »
Quote from: schweinsty;120362
I'm a soft polytheist, wobbling between seeing the gods as aspects of a greater energy or being, perhaps existing discretely within it, or as archetypes which humans came up with to explain or describe this greater being.