Re: Eclipse Time, Everyone Panic! by Altair
[April 09, 2024, 09:29:08 am]

Re: Eclipse Time, Everyone Panic! by Jenett
[April 08, 2024, 09:09:39 pm]

Re: Eclipse Time, Everyone Panic! by Sefiru
[April 08, 2024, 06:09:38 pm]

Re: Supermarket Witches by SirPalomides
[April 08, 2024, 09:49:17 am]

Author Topic: Comparative religion questions  (Read 1570 times)

MattyG

• Master Member
    • View Profile
Comparative religion questions
« on: April 12, 2013, 12:51:01 am »
Whenever I'm studying Celtic religion, I often see comparisons to other Indo-European cultures. Generally, there's a focus on three societal classes, divine kingship, land-goddesses, and a beginning and end to the universe. I really have two questions.

1) Does anyone know of any other themes or motifs that would be defined as Indo-European?

2) What features of other major cultural groups would you say distinguish them from Indo-European culture and religion?

Sorry if this topic seems ill formed, but I'm super tired and won't be able to sleep until I get this out there :P Thanks, all.

LikeMars

• View Profile
Re: Comparative religion questions
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2013, 11:04:32 am »
Quote from: MattyG;105054
Whenever I'm studying Celtic religion, I often see comparisons to other Indo-European cultures. Generally, there's a focus on three societal classes, divine kingship, land-goddesses, and a beginning and end to the universe. I really have two questions.

1) Does anyone know of any other themes or motifs that would be defined as Indo-European?

2) What features of other major cultural groups would you say distinguish them from Indo-European culture and religion?

Sorry if this topic seems ill formed, but I'm super tired and won't be able to sleep until I get this out there :P Thanks, all.

Hi!

So I'm no scholar on PIE, but since no one else has answered you, i thought i'd have a stab at it.