Cali is on a distinguished road Cali's Avatar
    Last Online
    4 Jun 2016 @ 07:12 PM
    Country
    Newzealand
    Religion
    Animist

Choosing a Pantheon

I'm relatively new to paganism as a whole and for me, finding a pantheon for me to honor is turning out to be pretty difficult. First of all, I must say I am not interested in reconstructionism and never have been, I would definatley fit much more within the "Neo-pagan" or just on the general polytheist spectrum than anything else. Despite that, I've always held that my spirituality should have some sort of mono-cultural theme to it (all Germanic, all Greek etc.)

My heritage is Celtic (Irish and Welsh), Germanic (Dutch) and Slavic (Polish). I decided to look into all of my ancestral pantheons, spending months reading the myths, the ancient culture and history of the people and looking at individual gods and goddesses. However I never felt drawn to any of the gods of either the Welsh, Irish, German or Slavic pantheons. Whenever I read about any of them, I never felt a strong connection. So I tried reaching out to them have to see if they want a relationship with me. I got no answer. I felt somehow I had shamed my ancestors at not having a relationships with any of those gods and that I had done something wrong. So I took a break for a while and left my research alone for about 4 months or so.