Stellar Bling: The Good, the Bad, the OMG! by Altair
[March 21, 2024, 02:52:34 pm]

Author Topic: Baldr  (Read 1226 times)

Fionnbharr

• Journeyman
    • View Profile
Baldr
« on: January 15, 2013, 05:27:32 pm »
Hi I am new to this magical forum :D and I grew up with Norse Mythology (though nothing serious just all the wonderful tales). In the threads I have read this far Odin, Loki and Thor gets named "a lot" but not so much Baldr (and some of the others like Bragi and Idunn). So if any of you has some personal stories of Baldr then I would love to hear them - stories about other lesser spoken off is also very welcome and I do adore Idunn.
Grief and sorrow grows on the far banks of the river Styx, go there and visit them and you might not find your own way back home. - Achilles

Juniperberry

• Grand Master Member
  • Banned!
    • View Profile
Re: Baldr
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 07:04:28 pm »
Quote from: Fionnbharr;91452
Hi I am new to this magical forum :D and I grew up with Norse Mythology (though nothing serious just all the wonderful tales). In the threads I have read this far Odin, Loki and Thor gets named "a lot" but not so much Baldr (and some of the others like Bragi and Idunn). So if any of you has some personal stories of Baldr then I would love to hear them - stories about other lesser spoken off is also very welcome and I do adore Idunn.

Well, its not personal (though why I like them is), but I prefer the hero Baldr fighting for love and honor over the Baldr as Christ-figure.

I also like the theory that the Baldr drama harkens back to  a time of ancient warrior cult intitiations.
The pace of progress in artificial intelligence (I’m not referring to narrow AI) is incredibly fast. [...] The risk of something seriously dangerous happening is in the five year timeframe. 10 years at most.--Elon Musk