collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Is this alright?  (Read 1369 times)

Seax_Blade

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
Is this alright?
« on: June 09, 2015, 02:57:08 pm »
Hello, I'm new to Paganism; I am starting in Asatru, but I was wondering if it is alright to "mix" with some Celtic Paganism as well? I'll be more specific. Yesterday I was thinking about what I could do for offerings, and I thought--I play the Irish Pennywhistle, and Uilleann Pipes (and some guitar)--I could offer some music maybe. Others have said  that that seems like a good offering in the first place, but I also thought that, well, they ARE Irish instruments, would it be better to offer such music to Celtic (specifically Irish/Gaelic) gods/goddesses, at least maybe one or two specific ones for music/artistic things?

NiDara

• Master Member
    • View Profile
  • Religion: Gaelic Polytheism, Clann Bhride
  • Preferred Pronouns: she/her they/them
Re: Is this alright?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2015, 04:40:48 pm »
Quote from: Seax_Blade;175932
Hello, I'm new to Paganism; I am starting in Asatru, but I was wondering if it is alright to "mix" with some Celtic Paganism as well? I'll be more specific. Yesterday I was thinking about what I could do for offerings, and I thought--I play the Irish Pennywhistle, and Uilleann Pipes (and some guitar)--I could offer some music maybe. Others have said  that that seems like a good offering in the first place, but I also thought that, well, they ARE Irish instruments, would it be better to offer such music to Celtic (specifically Irish/Gaelic) gods/goddesses, at least maybe one or two specific ones for music/artistic things?

I've definitely heard of various pagans mixing Celtic and Norse traditions and following those pantheons of deities. As far as music offerings, I could see that being given to Lugh, Brighid, the Dagda, and so on, if you're wanting to focus on the Tuatha de Danann.

MattyG

• Master Member
    • View Profile