Re: "Christ Is King" by SunflowerP
[Yesterday at 10:30:17 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 08:31:19 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Darkhawk
[Yesterday at 07:54:40 pm]

Re: "Christ Is King" by Sefiru
[Yesterday at 07:44:49 pm]

Author Topic: Using songs in magic  (Read 6472 times)

Liadine (dragonflyeyes)

• Master Member
    • View Profile
  • Preferred Pronouns: she/her
Using songs in magic
« on: September 02, 2011, 02:23:10 am »
Does anyone else here use songs in their magic? I don't just mean overtly 'pagan' songs, but pop songs, classical music, and so on.

Music is important to me in a lot of contexts, and I've found that certain songs are useful while doing magical work. Usually it's just there in the background, but sometimes I incorporate the song into the work itself by putting the song on repeat and singing along with some of the lyrics while I work as a way to 'say' the spell.

For example, I've used 'Get Out Of My House' by Kate Bush while doing work to keep certain things (not necessarily people) out of my actual or metaphorical home. I've also used 'Night Terror' by Laura Marling while doing a protection spell for a loved one. I find that very few songs lend themselves to being used this way (it's a combination of lyrics and music that happens rarely), but I can usually spot good songs as soon as I hear them these days.

Thoughts? Experiences?
We owe it to each other to tell stories [Neil Gaiman]
night's a good herd [my religious tumblr]

Lecia Hale

• Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: Using songs in magic
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 04:16:45 pm »
Quote from: Liadine (dragonflyeyes);17323
Does anyone else here use songs in their magic?

I  have a playlist on my iPod called "spellsongs".  Basically, they've all got lyrics that I can use for specific purposes. One on the list is Fuel by Metallica... "Give me fuel, give me fire, give me that which I desire."  Others are of a more personal nature, but you get the idea.