collapse

* Recent Posts

Author Topic: Cornish Gods and Goddesses?  (Read 5839 times)

trillian

• Jr. Newbie
    • View Profile
Cornish Gods and Goddesses?
« on: November 15, 2014, 03:37:48 pm »
Good evening!

I find myself in a rather peculiar situation and I sincerely hope that the lovely people here will be able to help me. Having had a peek at the boards, I'm sure someone will!

First my background: I'm in my mid-30s. For at least the last 18 years I have considered myself to be an atheist. I was raised, rather loosely, Church of England and was briefly involved with an evangelical church when I was 17/18 due to pressure from my boyfriend at the time. I studied archaeology at university, and was particularly interested in the Iron Age. I've always been somewhat interested in mythology but never to the extent of gaining a significant level of knowledge.

On to my query:

I'm currently writing a book. One of the characters started out with a vague back-story that was generically 'pagan'. Because I'm nothing if not thorough this wasn't good enough for me, so I started researching to make sure that what I wrote would be accurate - after all, getting things right is only respectful. Initially, I just wanted a plausible belief system for the character.

Well, my focus drifted, and I found myself looking more and more specifically at the Gaelic and Brythonic deities. As my family tree is predominantly Cornish, I've found myself particularly fascinated with trying to identify who my pre-Roman/Christian ancestors might have worshipped. Obviously, this is easier said than done due to the lack of significant evidence available!

So far, from looking at the internet, I've identified that Bride (by some name) is highly likely, but who else?

This has become quite pressing, as I feel I should be showing respect to -someone-, and Bride alone isn't the correct fit.

Where do I go from here?

Gilbride

• Sr. Master Member
    • View Profile
Re: Cornish Gods and Goddesses?