collapse

Author Topic: Death Anxieties/Wondering if I keep getting drawn back to paganism for a reason  (Read 7991 times)

Xikari

• Jr. Newbie
    • View Profile
(This might be better placed in the philosophical section, but seeing as I'm new I didn't want to attempt to place it in a non-beginner friendly area)

I've been studying various forms of paganism and witchcraft for many years now, going on 7 now, since I first entered college. I've stayed with it for a while, but during college about a year after I started studying, I was lying in bed thinking and the thought occurred to me- What if nothing exists after we die? What if we just "poofed" out of existence?

The thought was very jarring, and I pushed it away quickly. Just coming close the threshold of imagining being nothing sent me on the verge of panic. And ever since then, every couple of months, I'll think about it again.

Problem is, it gets more and more persistent, to the point that now, there's not a night that I don't think about it, and it has gotten to the point that it sent me into a full flown panic attack, which I had never experienced before.

If I stop moving around and being active during the day I'll think about it. It's become very disruptive, and I've considered maybe talking to a therapist about it.

That is until tonight when, slightly frightened that my thoughts started to take that turn yet again, I told myself I'm done looking at scientific articles that do nothing but increase my anxiety and found myself looking around on this forum again. (been lurking for about 6 years now on and off)